Directly to the content

Country

Shipping in Germany 4,59 € (from 30€ free only in Germany). Shipping to Austria 7,90€.

Guidelines for production methods for halal food

Guidelines for production methods for halal food

 

Halal food and the production methods

 

Today, a large part of the food is produced with industrial methods, starting from the first step of its creation. For this reason, the associated industry is now also Food industry . To ensure the permanent availability of numerous foodstuffs, these are produced in large quantities in factories. Furthermore, numerous product lines are produced in the same factory in parallel or one after the other. This has an effect on the manufactured products and manifests itself, for example, with the information "May contain traces of nuts" on food packaging, even though no nuts are intended in the desired product. The keyword is cross-contamination. This refers to the undesired transfer of contamination to objects, items or the like. In the case of food this would be for example the contamination of halal fruit gums with pork gelatine.

 

manufacturing process: Cruelty to animals prohibited in halal food

 

Not only the selection of the animal species, species-appropriate husbandry and dignified treatment and the gentle, painless and stress-free slaughtering are criteria for a product to be classified as allowed (halal), there are also numerous factors to be considered when processing the raw materials. For example, it is of little help if all rules are followed until the slaughter of a cow and cross-contamination with pig fat occurs during the subsequent processing of the raw product. In order to avoid such mistakes, there are also guidelines for industrial production processes from various certifiers. Although these guidelines are based on the Koran and the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad (s), they must be constantly updated and reviewed on the basis of existing processing techniques and individual circumstances.

 

Guidelines for the production of halal food

 

If a permitted animal species has been selected for the production of a product and slaughtered according to Islamic guidelines, then care should be taken during processing to ensure that

  • the production line of halal products is separated from other production lines or at least parts of the corresponding factory
  • all machines are cleaned and dry and employees of the halal production line have no contact with non halal food.
  • Halal meat at no time, beginning from slaughter, through transport, storage and processing, is contaminated by contact with pork or other non-halalal food.
  • all additives comply with halal guidelines
  • also the packaging process does not allow cross-contamination with non-permitted (haram) products. [1]

A list of all aspects sounds very abstract. How does this affect the daily production routine? Which products are affected?

 

Haribo sweets without pork gelatine as an example

 

Fruit gums are a suitable example of the criteria listed above. While some producers have completely changed their product lines to vegetarian or vegan raw materials, others produce specifically separate halal products . For example, while classic Haribo fruit gums sometimes contain pork gelatine, which is not suitable for halal classification, a separate plant in Turkey produces exclusively halal products. In this special plant, only halal Haribo sweets without pork gelatine are produced, thus eliminating the risk of halal and non-halalal sweets coming into contact. Therefore no cross-contamination is allowed. Only certified halal raw materials are used for halal production .

 

These considerations can also be applied to fast food. Many large fast food chains have vegetarian or even vegan products in their assortment, which could in principle be consumed by Muslims. It is important to know whether employees have changed their gloves beforehand when making a sandwich or a burger, whether they use contamination-free knives or grills and whether the corresponding food is stored separately. If these aspects are not taken into account, the respective offers can be classified as nonhalal (haram). 

 

1Represented appropriately http://www.eurohalal.eu/index.php/halal-richtlinien.html

Close (Esc)

Selam, stay informed about special prices

Enter your e-mail address to be informed about our special offers. 

age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Shopping Cart